Gearing Up

At 9:10 this morning I came back to the apartment from an exhilarating bike ride. I hadn’t ridden a bike for a very long time before that. Maybe six or seven years, really. I used to dabble in mountain biking with a friend of mine. He was the real cyclist; I just came along, but had a great time doing it. In those days, I had a bike that suited my needs, for the most part, but never really had a high caliber bike. My last bike was a Huffy from Wal-mart, and though I loved it, it barely made the cut after Ben and I started hitting the trails.

But as I was saying, I went on a ride this morning. I rode to Lake Murray, rode the lake loop, and rode back home. For those who are tempted to be a smidgen impressed, I must admit that I only live about a mile and a half from the lake.

Yesterday I bought the bicycle from Trek, right down the street from my apartment. I was deliberating whether to get a mountain bike or a road bike. The advantages of a road bike on paved streets are easily felt. In terms of resistance, there’s just no comparison to a mountain bike. But I didn’t know what kind of biking I would be doing. I needed something more versatile. You can always get away with riding a mountain bike on the street and then hit the dirt with no problems. Try a road bike on the dirt, and you’re in for a bad ride. The best thing is to have two bikes, but I can’t have two bikes; I had to choose, and ultimately the versatility of the mountain bike won the day. Already, after her maiden voyage, I’m glad I have the knobby, 2-inch tires, when I veered freely off the paved loop at Lake Murray and ventured a little off-roading.  I think this is the beginning of a beautiful relationship.

Leave a Reply

Naturalis Historia

Exploring the Intersection of Science and Faith in the Spirit of John Ray

Today's New Reason to Believe

Integrating Science and Faith

Soliloquium

Faith Seeking Understanding

Tim Challies

"The discerning heart seeks knowledge" (Proverbs 15:14).

Christian Knight

For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. (Eph 6:12 ESV)

Board Game Pair-A-dice

Where the fun just keeps rollin'

Pure Soliloquy

"The discerning heart seeks knowledge" (Proverbs 15:14).

Operation Living Water

A biblical community with a voice

danieloquence. *

* it's like eloquence, only messier.

Tu Media Naranja

Our life on an urban frontier.

